Long distance Friendship

FRIENDS! Many of us have different sets of friends. We have college friends, good friends, close friends and then there is that one person we can  share our deepest, weirdest and most embarrassing secrets our BEST FRIEND.  Our best friend is our confidant. They know all about our silly little things and deepest darkest secrets. We can be our self when we are with them and not worry about being judged.

Well I have one such amazing, sweetest and sometimes annoying best friend who right now is 7000 miles away. We’ve been friends since high school. They say that the friendships you make in high school last long. When you are in high school you don’t always make the smartest decisions. I know I didn’t. But it was comforting to know that there was someone just as stupid as I was in high school :p

I am an only child and she is the closet thing I have to a sister. We practically grew up together. From reckless teenagers to responsible adults , umm somewhat responsible. We made some stupid mistakes, dated some stupid people, cried over stupid things but at the end of all these stupid dramas we had each others back and that made things better.

Now that we are in two different countries I won’t lie it gets tough.  Time difference between India and New York is 9 hours 30 minutes and as much as we try it is getting difficult to talk everyday and share every single thing about our life like we used to. I miss her when I see two friends having fun, I miss her when something exciting happens, I miss her when I can’t decide what to wear, I miss her when I  am feeling low and need someone to cheer me up. My college keeps me busy and her job keeps her occupied. But the little time we get to talk and share things makes me realize that she doesn’t have to be physically present for me to know that she is always there for me. I still text her whenever I need some honest advice and even though I have to wait for few hours for her reply it’s still worth it.  The reason I strongly believe that our friendship can withstand this distance is that she needs me as much as I need her. We’ve been through so much together that mere distance can’t weaken our bond. Yes I would love to experience the New York life with her and make new memories here but she has her different set of goals to achieve and I have mine. Well I guess this a part and parcel of growing up.

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. amandaleung15 says:

    I definitely relate to this! I’ve known my best friend since pre school and sometimes we go months without seeing each other, but the moment we do, it’s as if nothing has changed. We always are texting each other too, and I agree that it’s great to know that she’s always there for me no matter how far apart we are.

  2. margotsolal says:

    I can relate too! Being from Paris keeping in touch with my best friend has been hard, but think of it this way: when you’ll come home and see her you’ll have so much more things to tell each other and probably enjoy her company even more when you saw her every day 🙂

  3. malcaras says:

    It is really hard when your best friend is abroad. My best friend moved in south of France and me in New York so we talk by FaceTime or WhatsApp. I will saw her at Christmas and I can’t wait ! But New York is a really great city, I hope you enjoyed your time here

  4. vrushalishetty says:

    Damn! So many of us can relate to this. Good to know though 🙂

    1. dharmashah10 says:

      As we both come from the same background I know how it feels to not be connected in as a person but be connected only virtually.

  5. leanisapaulino says:

    I just read your blog and I definitely relate to this. My two best friends are all the way in the Dominican Republic and it does get tough. Sometimes you just want someone to be physically there to support you. I miss them sooo much

Leave a comment