8 comments on “Expressing Feelings When You Can’t: How I Started Songwriting

    • Thanks, Samantha! I would love to do that. I’m avoiding YouTube because I’d like to record the songs professionally before releasing them, but I’ve been looking into doing an open mic. Have you ever been to one?

      • No I haven’t! I have friends who have been to one and they love it. They much prefer the more relaxed setting rather than going to a concert and being in a room with hundreds or thousands of people and barely hearing the artist. If you’re looking for a relaxed setting to perform in I’d look into it!

  1. I really think that you should pursue performing, to me it sounds like your music is coming from a very genuine place in your heart and, although I have never heard it, people tend to like music that is genuine. You should try open mics, there are several in Manhattan and Brooklyn at intimate little coffee shops where nerves are a very minimal factor. Also if you want to record but do not want to spend a whole lot of money, you should try and connect with music engineering students who are trying to build their portfolio. Chances are they will do it for free (or just for some pizza) and the quality will more than sufficient for a first release.
    I wish you the best of luck and Im glad you have such an awesome platform for expression.

    • Wow, thank you so much for this! I’m going to look into open mics and working with up-and-coming musicians/music engineers based on your suggestion. That sounds like a great idea, and I’d love to help someone else out with their artistic endeavors as well. I really appreciate your comments! Hopefully, you’ll get to hear some of my tunes in the near(ish) future.

  2. Pingback: The Playlist: Hope in Challenging Seasons | Comm350's Blog

  3. Pingback: How Do You Listen to Music? | Comm350's Blog

Leave a Reply

