8 comments on “Gay is okay

  1. Devin in case you didn’t know I’m gay too! I came out to all of my friends 3 years ago on 4/20 (I didn’t even realize but everyone thought I was high LOL) and it’s definitely an amazing thing learning to love yourself and accepting all the different facets that make you who you are. I’ve faced a lot of hardship and opposition from friends and sometimes still do with some hostile homophobic comments but I think that it refined me as a person and taught me how to love myself even more! You do you man and it’s really cool that you shared this with us.

  2. I’m not even gay, but as a minority I identify with the whole different upbringing thing, what an inspiring post. I read the pita post and then this… made me think of rainbow bagels – they’re so delicious, I hope you and your parents will be able to share them. Good luck!

    • Hahaha, this made me laugh. Mom, dad, I got some rainbow bagels! Why rainbow you ask?! GREAT QUESTION…. Something along the lines of that maybe… Haha Thanks Kev!

  3. Now that you’ve told your friends, classmates, me and the blogosphere – tell your parents! They should here about you from you, never second hand. They made you, they raised you and hopefully they taught you a thing or two about love. Don’t delay! And I like Kevin’s idea – bring them some bagels. Just because.

    • I agree, gotta suck it up and tell the people who raised me. I’ll get around to it! & Yeah the rainbow bagels will fit the theme very thoroughly! & who doesn’t love bagels?

  4. Devin I can’t believe I’m just seeing this! I think this post shows how genuine and happy of a person you are. You have an amazing attitude and I’m sure a lot of people can learn from your story.

    The line about your dad is very touching! It’s so cute what you’re saying about texting him and everything. Telling your parents is a huge thing obviously! Honesty towards people you love always is! Trust me, we make a big deal out of certain things and the more you wait, the more you’re stressing yourself out. Not every story is the same, I get that, but it sounds like your parents love you a lot LOT! Even if it’s easy to say I just want you to GO FOR IITTTT!! – because I know you’ll feel so much better and it’s going to be SO positive for your relationship with them.

    Finally, I want to say that I’m very proud to be living in a time and a place where people can peacefully and publicly be who they are. I’m proud of people’s positive reactions to your post, and I’m proud of you!

    Thank you for sharing such intimate thoughts with us. Love is an amazing thing, you and everybody deserve to experience it to the fullest!!

Leave a Reply

